

Mae'r cofnodion hyn yn amodol ar gymeradwyaeth yng nghyfarfod priodol nesaf y Pwyllgor.

These Minutes are subject to approval at the next appropriate meeting of the Panel

#### RHONDDA CYNON TAF COUNCIL LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE

Minutes of the meeting of the Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee held on Friday, 24 May 2019 at 10.00 am at the Block A, Committee Room 1, The Pavilions, Cambrian Park. Clydach Vale, Tonypandy, CF40 2XX.

## County Borough Councillors - Local Education Authority Governors Appointments Committee Members in attendance:-

Councillor J Rosser (Chair)

Councillor M Powell Councillor J Brencher Councillor D Owen-Jones

# Officers in attendance:-

Miss N Morgan, School Organisation and Governance Team Leader

## 1 APOLOGY FOR ABSENCE

An apology for absence was received from County Borough Councillor S.Rees-Owen.

#### 2 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

County Borough Councillor M. Powell declared a personal interest in Agenda item No. 7 – Applications for the Appointment of Local Education Authority Governors – "I am an applicant at Coedpenmaen Primary".

## 3 ELECTION OF CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2019/20 MUNICIPAL YEAR

**RESOLVED** to elect County Borough Councillor J. Rosser as Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2019-20 municipal year.

#### 4 APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR OF THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS (APPOINTMENTS) COMMITTEE FOR THE 2019-20 MUNICIPAL YEAR

**RESOLVED** to appoint County Borough Councillor J. Brencher as Vice-Chair of the Local Education Authority Governors (Appointments) Committee for the 2019 – 20 municipal year.

## 5 MINUTES

**RESOLVED** to approve as an accurate record, the minutes of the meeting of the L.E.A. Governors (Appointments) Committee held on 20<sup>th</sup> March 2019.

## 6 EXCLUSION OF THE PRESS AND PUBLIC

**RESOLVED** that the press and public be excluded from the meeting under Section 100A (4) of the Local Government Act 1972 for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 13 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act (as amended), namely, information relating to a particular individual. Transparency in the conduct of Local Authority business is desirable, however, personal data relating to the conduct and capabilities of individuals will be discussed and considered. Consequently, it is considered the public interest in maintaining the exemption outweighs and the public interest in disclosing information.

## 7 PROPOSAL TO REMOVE A LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNOR

The School Organisation and Governance Team Leader informed Members that a letter of resignation has been received from the applicant. Following discussions, Members **RESOLVED** to accept the letter of resignation, and therefore, no further consideration of the report was required.

# 8 APPOINTMENT OF LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY GOVERNORS

In her report, the School Organisation and Governance Team Leader advised the Committee of applications received for Local Education Authority governorships.

In addition to the applications listed in the report, five late applications for governorships were circulated for consideration.

Following consideration of the applications before them, Members **RESOLVED** that the following persons be appointed as Local Education Authority Governors, as set out below:

SCHOOL	GOVERNOR	EFFECTIVE DATE
Aberdare Park Primary	Mrs D Hoffland	30 <sup>th</sup> September 2019
Abernant Primary	Mrs June Landeg	9 <sup>th</sup> July 2019

	CBC L De' Vet	24 <sup>th</sup>
Blaengwawr Primary		
		September
		2019
Caegarw Primary	CBC P Jarman	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Coedpenmaen Primary	CBC M Powell	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Cwmdar Primary	Mr W Daniel	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Darren Park Primary	Mr R Maddox	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Ffynnon Taf Primary	Mrs Megan Jones	28 <sup>th</sup> June
	juit e li e gene e e le e	2019
Hendreforgan Primary	Mr A Warren	24 <sup>th</sup>
The full of the fu		September
		2019
Hendreforgan Primary	Mrs B Griffiths	2013 24 <sup>th</sup>
Thendreiorgan Frinary	WIS D GIIIIIIIS	September
		2019
	CBC M Webber	17 <sup>th</sup>
Heol-Y-Celyn Primary		··
		September
		2019
Llanhari Primary	Mr B Pick	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Llantrisant Primary	Mrs M Phillips	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Llwydcoed Primary	Mrs A Hosgood	28 <sup>th</sup> June
		2019
Llwydcoed Primary	Mrs S Evans	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Maesybryn Primary	Mrs B Channon	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Miskin Primary	Mrs J Ward	24 <sup>th</sup>
_		September
		2019
Oaklands Primary	Miss H Wagner	24 <sup>th</sup>
	0	September
		2019
Penderyn Primary	CBC G Thomas	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Perthcelyn Primary	Mrs J Ward	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Pontrhondda Primary	Mrs V Mumford	5 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Pontyclun Primary	CBC M Griffiths	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Pontygwaith Primary	CBC R Bevan	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
r ontygwaith Fhindly		24 Way 2019

Rhigos Primary	CBC G Thomas	6 <sup>th</sup> July 2019
Tonysguboriau Primary	Mr J Woodington	17 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Treorchy Primary	Mrs M Williams	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Tylorstown Primary	CBC M Adams	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Ynyshir Primary	Mrs E Jones	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Ynyshir Primary	Mr P Privett	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
YGG Bodringallt	Mrs L Llewellyn	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
YGG Pontsionnorton	Mr R Davies	9 <sup>th</sup> July 2019
YGG Tonyrefail	Mrs B Griffiths	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
YGG Ynyswen	Mr D Morris	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Hawthorn High School	CBC S Powderhill	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Mountain Ash Comprehensive	Mr H Milton	24 <sup>th</sup>
		September
		2019
Porth Community School	Mr L Hole	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Ysgol Garth Owlg	CBC G Stacey	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Ysgol Garth Owlg	Mr R Butler	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Ysgol Garth Owlg	Ms J Barton	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Ysgol Garth Owlg	Mrs A Harden	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019
Ysgol Garth Owlg	Mrs S Thomas	24 <sup>th</sup> May 2019

(**Note:** Having earlier declared a personal and prejudicial interest in the matter County Borough Councillor M. Powell left the meeting for the Appointment of the Governors at Coedpenmaen Primary).

This meeting closed at 10.35 am

CLLR J ROSSER CHAIR.